I Love This Husband & Wife Stuff

365 THINGS I LOVE ABOUT BEING MARRIED!

#320: Cleanliness is next to Godliness April 15, 2012

Therefore, having these promises, beloved, let us cleanse ourselves from all defilement of flesh and spirit, perfecting holiness in the fear of God.

2 Corinthians 7:1

Although most of the Bible references to cleanliness deal with spiritual over physical cleanliness, I know that God wants me to keep a clean house.  With all the things the Proverbs 31 wife is doing, I know that when “She sets about her work vigorously; her arms are strong for her tasks,” some of these tasks involve cleaning her home.  Cleaning is not something I terribly enjoy but I know that while I’m doing it it’s not so bad and I love having a clean house and how it looks and smells after I clean it.  Looking into the future, I see myself focusing on de-cluttering and organizing and then cleaning will become a focus.  Of course, it’s all about balance. Cleaning is just one of the essential things in keeping up a home.  There’s also shopping, cooking, organizing, decorating, yard work, finances, etc.  All of these things need to be done.  We all excel in one or another but it all needs to get done.  I pray that I have the discipline to do all that I can and that my hands bring  balance, joy, order and harmony to my home.

"N-R-O-G super suds housecleaning week&qu...

"N-R-O-G super suds housecleaning week" - NARA - 515093 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

2 Responses to “#320: Cleanliness is next to Godliness”

  1. Sis Says:

    We had a house showing this morning and we have another one tomorrow afternoon, so I took my kids out for the entire day today just so I wouldn’t have to clean again.


Leave a Reply

