I Love This Husband & Wife Stuff

365 THINGS I LOVE ABOUT BEING MARRIED!

#291: St. Patty, Patron Saint of My Marriage March 17, 2012

Oxalis acetosella

Image via Wikipedia

St. Patrick has always brought good luck, love and blessings to my marriage.  Here are just a few things:

1) I first returned to the Catholic faith of my upbringing about 7 or 8 years ago.  I started attending St. Patrick’s church in downtown DC.  It’s right near my office.  I started praying for a husband in that very church.

2) A few years later, I had my first date with my husband.  On St. Patrick’s Day.

3) A year ago, we bought our first house.  The house closed.  On St. Patrick’s Day.

So it’s not a ton of things, but they are a few very significant things.  I believe that St. Patrick watches over my marriage.  Who knows what else he has in store for my marriage? 🙂

Statue of St. Patrick in Aughagower, County Mayo

Image via Wikipedia

St. Patrick’s Prayer for the Faithful

May the Strength of God guide us.
May the Power of God preserve us.
May the Wisdom of God instruct us.
May the Hand of God protect us.
May the Way of God direct us.
May the Shield of God defend us.
May the Angels of God guard us.
– Against the snares of the evil one.

May Christ be with us!
May Christ be before us!
May Christ be in us,
Christ be over all!

May Thy Grace, Lord,
Always be ours,
This day, O Lord, and forevermore. Amen.

 

2 Responses to “#291: St. Patty, Patron Saint of My Marriage”

  1. Sis Says:

    I love that prayer! We had Lucky Charms for breakfast this morning. BTW, I changed my name, I’m no longer Sexy Christian Wife.


Leave a Reply

