I Love This Husband & Wife Stuff

365 THINGS I LOVE ABOUT BEING MARRIED!

#278: How we met March 4, 2012

My husband and I met online.  At first I didn’t like the way it sounded.  I am a romantic and meeting online doesn’t sound organic enough.  Honestly, I’d always wanted to meet at a coffee shop.  Turns out we did.  We did meet online, City Paper.  But, we physically met at the Starbucks near my old apartment.

I went on City Paper one time.  I think I spent $5.00 to view the ads.  My screen name was Artsy.  My husband’s name was Othello Seeks Desdemona.  One of my co-workers said to me, “Does that mean he’s looking for a white girl?”  🙂  He wasn’t.

I didn’t even search for him.  While I was searching, random shots of people would flash on my computer screen.  A picture of my husband on a tennis court popped up and I liked what I saw.  It was like God flashed his picture on my screen.

I sent him a “flirt.”  He wrote back.  We chatted online.  Then we exchanged emails.  Then we talked on the phone for a couple of weeks.  Our first date was coffee.  At Starbucks.  It was St. Patrick’s Day, 2006.  I walked in and he was already there. I walked over and we had coffee.  Because that went well we went to dinner at a nearby Italian restaurant.  He dropped his fork.  We hit it off.

He walked me back to my building.  We sat on the couch in the lobby of my building.  I told him I liked him.  I said, “I like you.”  I still do. 🙂

Our second and third dates were church-related.  Second date was a church auction.  Third date was a Sunday service.

Now, I don’t care how we met.  It was how we were supposed to meet.  It was how God designed it.  There is no better architect.

Starbucks in Brisbane

Image via Wikipedia

 

8 Responses to “#278: How we met”

  1. wherethedaytakesme Says:

    awesomeness.

  2. Sexy Christian Wife Says:

    I love reading these kinds of stories!

  3. so sweet! I love how we met stories or how we got started stories!

  4. My husband and I met online too! It’ll be thirteen years this July we’ve been married! I still like him too 😀 Here’s to marriages made in heaven! Loving your blog Karyl!


Leave a Reply

