I Love This Husband & Wife Stuff

365 THINGS I LOVE ABOUT BEING MARRIED!

#267: Movie Mondays – The Help February 20, 2012

Year: 2011

Genre: Drama

Description (from IMDb): An aspiring author during the civil rights movement of the 1960s decides to write a book detailing the African-American maid’s point of view on the white families for which they work, and the hardships they go through on a daily basis.

Wife: This is definitely a chick flick.  I was surprised that my husband offered to watch it with me.  I didn’t even ask him to; he volunteered.  I had read the book.  I even discussed it in my book club.  I enjoyed the book and was excited about seeing what they did with it in the movie.  I liked the movie and thought the story translated well on the big screen.  It had the right spirit.  I recommend you read the book.  Then see the movie.  Love, love, love the quote: “You is kind. You is smart. You is important.”

Husband: The history was definitely a lure.  The emotions the movie evoked were genuine.  The movie kept me welded to the screen.  The actors were believable and I developed a sincere dislike for several of the characters.

Husband-Wife Compatibility Score: 10

 

2 Responses to “#267: Movie Mondays – The Help”

  1. mkultra76 Says:

    We read this in our book club as well, and everybody loved it. We’re planning a “movie watching” party in a week or so to watch this. Can’t wait to see it! I think so far, it has been the only book that everybody really, really enjoyed.


Leave a Reply

