I Love This Husband & Wife Stuff

365 THINGS I LOVE ABOUT BEING MARRIED!

#261: Movie Mondays – Dream House February 6, 2012

North view of the house used in the 1985 teen ...

Image via Wikipedia

Year: 2011

Genre: Drama/Mystery/Thriller

Description (IMDb): Soon after moving into their seemingly idyllic new home, a family learns of a brutal crime committed against former residents of the dwelling.

Wife: I really wanted to like this movie.  I enjoy mind-bending thrillers.  In some ways the movie reminded me of Memento and Jacob’s Ladder except those were done well.  When the movie ended, I felt jerked around.  The movie didn’t take the time to tie up loose ends.  I liked the actors, acting, cinematography.  It was entertaining but lacking in the essential elements of a psychological thriller.

Husband: I thoroughly enjoyed this movie.  I liked the suspense, the twists, and the character development.  I look forward to buying it to have in my collection.  I realize that many people didn’t care for this movie.  But these are people who probably voted for George Bush twice.

Husband-Wife Compatibility Rating: 6.5*

Note: The husband rated this at 10 and the wife gave it a 3, for spite.  (Ever seen the Seinfeld spite episode?)  We watched this movie on Saturday night.  At 5:30 a.m. we started discussing the movie and must have debated for 30 minutes.  It’s funny how people want other people to agree with them.  It’s kind of silly when you think about it.  Some people like Vanilla and some like Chocolate.  I like Chocolate and this movie was definitely Vanilla!

 

Leave a Reply

