I Love This Husband & Wife Stuff

365 THINGS I LOVE ABOUT BEING MARRIED!

#247: He’s Not Perfect January 17, 2012

“A great marriage is not when the ‘perfect couple’ comes together. It is when an imperfect couple learns to enjoy their differences.”

Dave Meurer

A friend asked me recently whether my husband really says all the things I write about on my blog, or if I embellish. Apparently he seems too good to be true.  He really does say those things and what I write is true.  He really is a good husband.  He is a really good husband.   We are happy. I am happy.  But he’s not perfect.  Neither am I. What I don’t write about are his faults.  I don’t complain about him.  My blog is not a forum for that.  My blog is for sharing the things I love about marriage. There are other blogs that show a more even portrayal of marriage but that’s not what I choose to do. This blog is not “the good, the bad, and the ugly.”  It’s just the good. And there is a lot of it. Because we are human, there is also some bad (not real bad) on both our parts.  Like I said, I don’t share that here. That’s between my husband and me. So, to review:

  1. I love my husband.
  2. He is a really good husband.
  3. He’s not perfect and neither am I.

I love my husband in all his imperfection.  Anyone can love a perfect person. It takes real love to love imperfection.  And after all, isn’t that what I promised to do in my marriage vows?  Love, honor and cherish him?  I think so.

Marriage Vows on the Neverwas

Image by Orin Zebest via Flickr

 

2 Responses to “#247: He’s Not Perfect”

  1. Anyone can love a perfect person. It takes real love to love imperfection. <—- So very true and really a test of your marriage vows.

    Someone once said to me that it's very easy to love being married when things are going great in your marriage, but so easy to forget this when things aren't going great. The latter is definitely more of a challenge.

    • Karyl Says:

      Thanks for your comment. I try to remember how happy I usually am and how much I love being married even during hard times – it’s hard!


Leave a Reply

