I Love This Husband & Wife Stuff

365 THINGS I LOVE ABOUT BEING MARRIED!

#244: My husband’s DVD collection January 12, 2012

English: A Catholic Rosary with a St. Benedict...

Image via Wikipedia

English: Sunflowers in Fargo, North Dakota. Es...
Image via Wikipedia
Alien
Image via Wikipedia
Promotional photo of Boris Karloff from The Br...
Image via Wikipedia
CLose-up of a Santa Claus figurine bearing a p...
Image via Wikipedia

Collections are fascinating to me.  Not just the collection itself but what it is a person collects and why.  I used to collect sunflowers.  Especially kitchen sunflower things.  It got a bit old and I stopped but when I was into it I was really into it.  A friend collects rosaries.  A friend’s husband collects Santas.  My husband collects movies.  I’m not sure he considers it an official collection.  He just likes movies and buys them.  I call it a collection.

I remember the first time I had dinner at his house.  He was making dinner and told me to pick out a movie to watch.  It was amazing that I could look through hundreds of movies and not see anything I wanted to watch.  I barely recognized the movies!  The movies fell into the following categories: science fiction, horror, action, and thrillers.  The first three categories I categorically dislike.  I like thrillers but I guess didn’t know they were thrillers or had already seen them.  Honestly, I think they became infected being around so many detestable sci-fi and horror films.  It was like they were covered in blood and alien juice!  Yuck!

When we moved from an apartment to a townhouse soon after we married, we had no cable for about a week.  Those movies really came in handy.  I think we must have watched a gazillion.  It was the first time I really appreciated “the collection.”  Many times since then we will see a clip from a film and I will say “That looks good” and my husband will say “We have that.”  I’m astonished.  It just goes to show you that it’s best to have an open mind.  Before I met my husband I had never seen Independence Day (which I liked).  I had never watched the X-Files (love) or Law & Order (double love!).  I must admit, I appreciate my husband’s movie collection and it is one of the things I love about being married!

 

One Response to “#244: My husband’s DVD collection”

  1. […] #244: My husband’s DVD collection (ilovethishusbandandwifestuff.com) Share this:EmailPrintFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post.   Leave a Comment […]


Leave a Reply

