I Love This Husband & Wife Stuff

365 THINGS I LOVE ABOUT BEING MARRIED!

#237: My husband’s famous cornbread dressing January 3, 2012

A stuffed turkey

Image via Wikipedia

English: Cast iron skillet cornbread with baco...
Image via Wikipedia
White bread, made and photographed by ElinorD
Image via Wikipedia

I wasn’t feeling very well on Christmas Day.  I caught my husband’s cold.  I still wanted to cook dinner but I ended up making one less side dish.  I had wanted to try a friend’s asparagus casserole dish but just wasn’t up to it.  I had also planned to make cornbread stuffing – the one my husband usually makes – but wasn’t up to that either.   I took him up on his offer to make it.  It is nice to have a husband that knows how to cook. 

We have a stuffing conflict in the house.  It’s a bit of a northern-southern rivalry.  Northerners like stuffing made with white bread.  We call it regular stuffing.  Southerners like corn bread stuffing, which they call dressing.  In fact, they all it regular dressing.  Me, liking all foods, like both.  But I am a rare bird.

Anyway, my husband made his famous cornbread dressing and it was yummy, even though I didn’t have all the ingredients he wanted.  I had one less thing to make and was able to retire to the couch more quickly for vapid staring into the television set.  Oh, the holidays.  🙂   

He doesn’t use a recipe but here’s what’s in it:

cornbread

chicken broth

sage

onions

boiled chicken thighs, chopped

salt and pepper

 

2 Responses to “#237: My husband’s famous cornbread dressing”

  1. Debbie Says:

    I’ve often heard, and recently even, that marriage is all about compromise and seeking the best for the other. Reading your blog illustrates that. Being in relationship, being married, presents daily opportunities to deny yourself for the good of your husband or for the life of the relationship. It isn’t that this is right or that is wrong; it’s this is relationship.


Leave a Reply

