I Love This Husband & Wife Stuff

365 THINGS I LOVE ABOUT BEING MARRIED!

#236: Turning the other cheek in marriage December 30, 2011

Filed under: God — Karyl @ 9:00 am
Tags: , , , ,

“If someone strikes you on the right cheek, turn to him the other also.” Matthew 5:39

If you envision life as who’s right and who’s wrong, you see a struggle. If you envision life as a place where everyone has feelings, you see a world of humans.  Last week my husband was sick, he was understandably in a bad mood, and he wanted quiet.  I wanted companionship – to be myself, to share a song, to make a joke.  We each wanted something and didn’t receive it.  You could say that neither of us was wrong.  We were just people with feelings wanting different things.  You could say I was wrong because he was sick, and sick people should have a preference for getting what they want and need.  

Marriage is a service to God. When I gave my life to the Lord, he took it and filled it with grace.  He made it overflow with love and joy and with purpose. I am happier and more fulfilled.  However, I have often been called into new areas of service, often demanding. Marriage is one of those areas of service.

So, right or wrong, to be truly a woman of God, I have to turn the other cheek.  Move away from right vs. wrong.  Move away from me-me-me.  It’s hard.  In my core I want my way.  In my core there is a bossy, spoiled little brat.  Luckily, with grace, also in my core is a loving God who holds that little brat until she calms down and becomes the graceful, lovely, giver of love and kindness to those around her, including her poor, sick husband. 

A woman giving a man a kiss on the cheek

Image via Wikipedia

 

5 Responses to “#236: Turning the other cheek in marriage”

  1. gail harris Says:

    Good one today Karyl.

  2. Wishing you a Happy New Year!


Leave a Reply

