I Love This Husband & Wife Stuff

365 THINGS I LOVE ABOUT BEING MARRIED!

#233: Is the gift of gab really a gift? December 27, 2011

Filed under: God — Karyl @ 9:00 am
Tags: ,
The Gift (Andre Nickatina album)

Image via Wikipedia

I’ve thought a lot about silence lately.  It’s ironic because I have the so-called gift of gab.  I’ve always been a talker.  Part of this is me and my personality and part of it is a lot of other things: nervousness, wanting to be liked, wanting to please, wanting to be the center of attention, wanting to impress, wanting to sound smart.  You get the drift.  I’m not saying that I want to be a quiet, shy person.  But I would like to cut the amount of idle chatter that comes out of my mouth.  I actually gave up idle chatter last Lent.  It didn’t go so well.

I’ve read a lot about being happier and more peaceful, and many things point to talking less and listening more. I have a nasty habit of interrupting people and being more quiet would help that.  You may ask, how does this relate to my marriage and to the things I love about marriage.  Well, I’ll tell you.  My husband likes quiet and my incessant talking is often annoying to him.  I get it.  Sometimes I irritate myself I talk so much!  Living in a marriage means making compromises.  It means that he needs to be more tolerant of my talking.  It also means that I need to talk less.  Marriage can make you a better person.  More holy.  More saint-like.  Marriage is a mirror in which you get to look at your ugly moles.  It motivates you to actually do something about changing parts of yourself that you don’t like.

 

4 Responses to “#233: Is the gift of gab really a gift?”

  1. mkultra76 Says:

    We are a family of talkers. We all talk, all the time. When one of us stops talking, the first question is, “Why are you so quiet? Everything all right?”

    • Karyl Says:

      that’s great. sometimes when my husband is quiet i ask him if he’s alright. he looks at me like i’m crazy. i get talkers. not sure i get nontalkers so well but i’m trying!

  2. Fawn Says:

    You and I are in the same bought and I’ve been thinking alot about silence lately too. Now, if only I could get my lips and tongue to cooperate!


Leave a Reply

