I Love This Husband & Wife Stuff

365 THINGS I LOVE ABOUT BEING MARRIED!

#232: Meditating on Our Marriage Vows December 26, 2011

Filed under: God — Karyl @ 9:00 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

I hope you had a lovely Christmas!  I think it is a good idea for me to periodically check my marriage vows and remind myself about what I promised to do.  Kind of like reviewing my job description at work.  Vows are not something you say one day at the beginning of your marriage and forget about. They should live and breathe and be part of every day.  In order for that to happen, I need to revisit them.

Our vows were pretty basic.  Here they are:

I, Karyl, take you, Walter, for my lawful husband, to have and to hold, from this day forward, for better, for worse, for richer or poorer, in sickness and in health, for as long as we both shall live.

So short but so profound.  We’ve got the legal part in there: lawful husband.  I get to have him in my life, in my home, in my heart.  I get to hold him, snuggle with him, be close to him.  Then there is the for better for worse part.  For better is easy.  He’s funny and smart and he makes me laugh.  He’s hardworking and reliable.  At worse he is human like the rest of us and has traits that I’m not as fond of, but “for worse” means that I try to overlook his shortcomings.  That I am patient with him and am still fan #1 in his corner through his worse times.  

For richer or poorer, in good financial times and bad.  We get to work together to be financially sound and prudent. To encourage good stewardship of our wealth, time and resources and to put our heads together creatively to increase our prosperity.  In sickness and in health.  Good health is the goal.  I work to keep us healthy by buying and cooking healthy foods and urging us to exercise and take good care of ourselves.  When he is sick, I take care of him.  When I am sick, I try not to whine too much.

Most importantly, as long as we both shall live.  We are in this for life.  It’s a life sentence!  But a good one.  What God has joined together, let no man put asunder.

I send you blessing during this Christmas season and always! 

Married couple renews their vows

Image via Wikipedia

        

 

7 Responses to “#232: Meditating on Our Marriage Vows”

  1. Kim Says:

    Hey friend, I appreciate your blog.

  2. Good stuff. Thanks for posting.

  3. […] #232: Meditating on Our Marriage Vows (ilovethishusbandandwifestuff.com) […]


Leave a Reply

