I Love This Husband & Wife Stuff

365 THINGS I LOVE ABOUT BEING MARRIED!

#225: Missing our parents at Christmas December 15, 2011

christmas 2007

Image by paparutzi via Flickr

The other day while I was cooking, I was playing Christmas music.  Mariah Carey’s Miss You Most At Christmas Time came on and it made me a bit teary eyed.  The person I was missing was my Dad.  He died when I was 18.  He loved Christmas and I’d love to have him here at Christmas and always.  My husband’s parents have passed away.  I know he’d love to have them here, especially his Mom.  Although I can’t say that missing our parents is something I love about being married, missing them together takes a bit of the sting away.  To all of you missing loved ones during the holidays, may God take away your pain and leave you with beautiful memories of the times you spent together.    

The fire is burning
The room’s all aglow
Outside the December wind blows
Away in the distance
The carolers sing in the snow
Everybody’s laughing
The world is celebrating
And everyone’s so happy
Except for me tonight
Because…

I miss you
Most at Christmas time
And I can’t get you
Get you off my mind
Every other season comes along
And I’m all right
But then I miss you
Most at Christmas time

 

Leave a Reply

