I Love This Husband & Wife Stuff

365 THINGS I LOVE ABOUT BEING MARRIED!

#221: Just love December 9, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Karyl @ 9:00 am
Tags: , , , , , ,
Just love...

Image via Wikipedia

There is a great guest post over at Engaged Marriage called Love is Sacrificial.  The guest post was written by Lori D. Lowe, marriage blogger at MarriageGems and author of First Kiss to Lasting Bliss: Hope & Inspiration for Your Marriage, out Dec. 8, 2011.  You can read more here.  I highly recommend it.  The premise is that couples who sacrifice for each other are happier.  This may seem counterintuitive to you.  It might seem that putting your spouse’s happiness before your own would make you happier.  It turns out that putting your spouse first is more likely to bring you happiness in the long run.  It kind of makes sense.  I get way more contentment out of giving than receiving.

My husband and I both make sacrifices for each other.  One thing I learned recently is that my husband makes sacrifices for me that I wasn’t even aware of.  Let’s take the little sacrifice of watching something on tv that you’d rather not watch.  I was under the impression that my husband liked Seinfeld and that when we watched it we were watching a show that we both liked.  It turns out that he only watches that for me.  My point is that your spouse may be making little sacrifices for you without your ever knowing it.  And that’s the way it should be.  When it comes to sacrifices there shouldn’t be counting, recognition, and acknowledgement. It should be about giving for the sake of giving.  All those pats on the back and gold stars that I need have to stop.  I need to learn to give without condition and without wishes for repayment.  True sacrifice means that I love under the Jesus model.  Love for the sake of love.  Just love.

 

Leave a Reply

