I Love This Husband & Wife Stuff

365 THINGS I LOVE ABOUT BEING MARRIED!

#216: He tells me I’m beautiful December 4, 2011

My husband is really good at telling me that he thinks I’m beautiful.  This means a lot coming from someone who sees me at my physical worst: when I’m sick, first thing in the morning, when I’m snoring.  It’s funny.  Sometimes when he tells me, I feel uncomfortable.  You know, it is hard to take a compliment.  It’s like when someone tells you they like your dress and you say, “This old thing?”  I have learned to take a compliment. I say thank you.  But sometimes I feel uncomfortable with being told I’m beautiful.  Is it that I don’t believe it?  Is it that I get hung up on how much looks matter and that they shouldn’t so much?  Is it that, I really don’t know how to take a compliment?  I don’t know.  So in the moment, I sometimes feel uncomfortable, squirm inside, but looking back on the many times he’s said it, I feel good and it makes me happy to know that he of all people thinks I’m beautiful.  There is not one person in the entire world that I’d rather be beautiful for.

 

5 Responses to “#216: He tells me I’m beautiful”

  1. luisa Says:

    You are beautiful both inside and out. No need to thank me. Loving your pictures. Keep them coming.

  2. Jenna Says:

    I agree that it is hard to hear sometimes. And sometimes I think my hubby is downright crazy for thinking it :). But wouldn’t we be SO SAD if they never said it again?!

  3. I’ve known my husband since I was 14 and sometimes I wonder what he thinks as he watches me growing older. But even in our early 20s he told me he had a dream where he saw us sitting on our porch together, little old grandparents watching over the lives we’d built. And he saw me with grey hair. And he always smiles when he talks of this dream and tells me he can’t wait to see me at that age, and that he thinks that’s the most beautiful I’ll ever be. Where the lines on my face and the grey of my hair are symbols of the life and the time we’ve lived together.

    There’s just something so sweet about a man who sees his spouse through eyes of life. Where even though you’re so tired or you’re in your sweatpants, or you’ll never look like Heidi Klum, it doesn’t matter because when he looks at you he doesn’t just see the beauty in your face, he sees your heart, and your lives, and all that you’ve put into it. And that’s always the best compliment. And when I think about it in that perspective, it makes it a little easier for me to accept graciously. 🙂


Leave a Reply

