I Love This Husband & Wife Stuff

365 THINGS I LOVE ABOUT BEING MARRIED!

#212: Surprise Pizza from Vace November 30, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Karyl @ 9:00 am
Tags: , , , , , ,
Pizza al taglio at Trastevere in Rome

Image via Wikipedia

I like to think of myself as a foodie.  Not a fanatical foodie but a foodie nevertheless.  I love food!  I love  to eat it, of course, but I love to read about it, talk about it, write about it, look at it, cook it, and think about it.  Not like “Gee I’m hungry” kind of thinking but “How do we conceptualize our food” kind of thinking.  I also like watching cooking and restaurant shows.  I read lots of food blogs too. 

My husband is not a foodie but he does like to eat.  So I don’t have to twist his arm to try new restaurants.  Many times when we travel I have new places for us to try.  They are not usually fancy.  The last time we went to Denver we ate at a Jewish deli called, quite simply, The Bagel Deli & Restaurant.  I found it on the Food Network show Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives.  Excellent bagel with lox and cream cheese.  

When we went to Birmingham last week, we tried to go to Niki’s West.  I read in Southern Living magazine that they had the best collard greens ever.  Unfortunately for us, they were closed for the entire Thanksgiving holiday.  Next time.

There is an Italian deli in Cleveland Park called Vace that has the best pizza, pasta, sauces, etc.  My husband had never been there so I decided a couple of weeks ago to surprise him by bringing home some of Vace’s homemade pizza.  Not the best idea.  It was Friday night, I was tired after a long week.  I took the subway to Cleveland Park, walked a block from the subway, lugging my work bag, ordered the pizza, and waited.  Then I walked another block back, with my heavy bag and now two boxes of pizza, got on a crowded subway and took the train to Shady Grove, where my husband was waiting.  I was irritable because I’m usually irritable on Friday night on the subway and now I had two boxes of hot pizza on my lap.  I tried to put myself in a better mood – after all, I was trying to do something fun and nice for my husband.  I walked up to the car, got in, sat down and my husband said, “Did you get drinks?”  That almost put me over the edge but I was good and simply said,  “No.”

Long story short, we stopped to get some sodas, went home and enjoyed our pizza.  It was good and I love you Vace but Pizza Bolis would have worked just fine.  🙂 

 

Leave a Reply

