I Love This Husband & Wife Stuff

365 THINGS I LOVE ABOUT BEING MARRIED!

#189: Generosity October 27, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Karyl @ 4:06 pm
Tags: , , , ,
Hymns Children Generosity

No one ever says at the end of their life, “If I could do it all over I’d be a lot less generous.”  Being married gives me another person to whom I can express my generosity.  Because we have shared finances, my money is his money is our money.  So being generous doesn’t manifest as material gifts.   It’s not about money, but giving.  You can give in so many ways: with your time, with your attitude, with your attention, and with your patience.  Sometimes the hardest thing to give is your empathy: truly putting yourself in the other person’s shoes. When I get upset with my husband, I need to put myself in his shoes before I jump to conclusions, judge or get angry. Having that kind of generosity of spirit can be truly beneficial to the relationship, and to your self.

I give because I am. Letting myself be filled with love and sharing it with others feels so natural. It is why God put me here. It’s as easy as breathing. I thank God for giving me so much love and making me in His image.

 

3 Responses to “#189: Generosity”

    • Karyl Says:

      Gee, I sure hope that generosity didn’t get hurt. 🙂 Thanks for the compliment. I just love generosity. Seems you do too. I look forward to following your blog. I’m enjoying it. Thanks for stopping by.

  1. Ezzy Says:

    Hi Karyl,

    You have nailed the gift of generosity on the head 🙂

    Well written post about generosity. I especially love this paragraph: “So being generous doesn’t manifest as material gifts. It’s not about money, but giving. You can give in so many ways: with your time, with your attitude, with your attention, and with your patience. Sometimes the hardest thing to give is your empathy: truly putting yourself in the other person’s shoes. When I get upset with my husband, I need to put myself in his shoes before I jump to conclusions, judge or get angry. Having that kind of generosity of spirit can be truly beneficial to the relationship, and to your self.”

    Thank you for sharing!
    All the Best,
    ♥ Ezzy ♥


Leave a Reply

