I Love This Husband & Wife Stuff

365 THINGS I LOVE ABOUT BEING MARRIED!

#184: The Miracle of Food October 20, 2011

Wok

Image via Wikipedia

I just read an article entitled The Miracle of Food in the November issue of In Touch magazine.  In Touch is one of Dr. Charles Stanley’s publications.  He is a Christian minister that I really like.  He is smart, rational, and appeals to your intellect and heart.  He’s also a great teacher.  Check him out.  He has tv and radio ministry shows and a great website.

The article centers arround an interview with Alton Brown.  He is a chef that I like who happens to have an awesome biscuit recipe (more on that in an upcoming post).  What I didn’t know was that Brown is a Christian.  In his interview he shares his views on the “indelible link between God, faith, and food.”

Here’s more of this interesting and inspiring article that really resonates with me:

“To me, cooking and faith and my relationship with God are all intertwined.  I could not do what I do in food, around food, if I did not have the relationship that I have with God.  I believe first and foremost that God made the food.  He made it delicious.  So my entire approach to food in general is this: Do no harm.  To me, the most honor I can do to what He created is not to mar or in any way malign the creation. … No one will cook as well for you as someone who loves and cares for you. … And so cooking for our families, cooking with our families, eating with our families – that’s hugely powerful stuff.”

Wow!  But what do you expect from a Christian chef.  For all you Christian foodies like me, or even you Christian non-foodies, or nonreligious foodies, listen to these words and see if it doesn’t all come together!  🙂

 

2 Responses to “#184: The Miracle of Food”

  1. Debbie Says:

    Dr. Stanley was my pastor for over 10 years when I lived in metro Atlanta. I grew leaps and bounds under his teaching. I sure do miss those days! Alton Brown is one of my favorites too !

    • karyl33 Says:

      Funny. I think of him on television not actually in the real world. How nice that he was your pastor face to face. My friends and I think he’s great. Glad you like Alton Brown too! I’m making his famous meatloaf this weekend. Thanks for commenting! 🙂


Leave a Reply

