I Love This Husband & Wife Stuff

365 THINGS I LOVE ABOUT BEING MARRIED!

#170: Being Frugal September 29, 2011

I have spoken about the Proverbs 31 wife before.  The majority of the Proverbs 31 wife verses deal with work, stewardship, and resources.   The husband has full confidence in the wife and she brings him no harm.  She is a hard worker that rises early to make sure her family’s needs are taken care of.   She understands business and makes sound financial decisions.  She gives to the poor.  She ensures that her family’s basic needs are met:  food, clothing, and shelter.  To sum it up, “She watches over the affairs of her household and does not eat the bread of idleness.”

I have been contemplating my role as financial manager of the household.  I take my duties very seriously.  I have been continuing to learn about managing money and being frugal.  I am committed to living within our means.  In these hard economic times and always, those that live within their means, have no debt or little debt, and have savings are most likely to overcome hardship. 

My sister-in-law is taking a course with the Financial Peace University program founded by Dave Ramsey.  The lessons are Christian-based and focus on eliminating debt, building wealth, finding  bargains, investing  for the future, and increasing tithing and charitable giving.  I read Dave Ramsey’s book and it reinforced some of the things I learned in Michelle Singletary’s book  The Power to Prosper.  I recommend both to you if you are interested in improving in this area. 

Like weight maintenance, financial stewardship never ends and it’s something you keep plugging away at, fine-tuning and refiguring.  The bottom line is to live within and hopefully below your means, save, and tithe.  At this point I “strive to tithe” but I plan to get there! 

In case you are interested, here are three of my favorite frugality

Cover of "The Power to Prosper: 21 Days t...

Cover via Amazon

blogs.  Enjoy! 

Being Frugal

Hey It’s Free

Frugal and Thriving

 

Leave a Reply

