I Love This Husband & Wife Stuff

365 THINGS I LOVE ABOUT BEING MARRIED!

#149: Serving God Through Serving My Family August 25, 2011

I truly believe that I serve God each day through serving my family.  The love and care I give to my husband, son and home is an act of love for God and the God in them.  It is a way that I express my love for God and to be the woman that God wants me to be.    I read today in The Word Among Us :

“God has plans for your life, plans for your good, plans to give you a future full of hope.  (Jeremiah 29:11)  He wants to involve you deeply in his plans, even when it looks like the same old job, the same old school routine, or the same old schedule of housework.”

When you infuse your ordinary activities with your love of God, they take on a new light.  God is good that way.  He enlightens everything.  I’ve read a lot about Opus Dei.  Opus Dei is a Catholic institution founded by Saint Josemaría Escrivá.  The mission is to help people turn their work and daily activities into occasions for growing closer to God, for serving others, and for improving society.  The Opus Dei website shares:

“It is in the midst of the most material things of the earth that we must sanctify ourselves, serving God and all mankind,” said St. Josemaría. The family, marriage, work – all of our activities – are opportunities for dealing with and imitating Jesus Christ, trying to practice charity, patience, humility, diligence, integrity, cheerfulness and all the other human and Christian virtues.”

It’s not easy to practice charity, humility and cheerfulness while grocery shopping, mopping and cleaning the bathroom, but it is another opportunity to lift your burdens to God.  Another sacrifice you can make for all the sacrifices God has made for us.

 

Leave a Reply

