I Love This Husband & Wife Stuff

365 THINGS I LOVE ABOUT BEING MARRIED!

#138: His breakfast concoctions August 17, 2011

My husband makes interesting breakfasts.  He is fond of the mixed breakfast.  I like a blended breakfast (and dinners lately).  Smoothies, in a blender.  Green ones to be exact.  Here’s a typical mixed breakfast for my husband: grits with sausage mixed in.  Or eggs with cheese and rice mixed in.  The point is that everything is mixed together.  His brother makes a breakfast meal he calls the garbage plate.  It’s basically a biscuit covered with eggs, cheese, meat, grits and gravy (and anything else you want to throw in!).  Let’s just say, I’m not a fan. 

When I was little, I didn’t like any of my food to touch.  The peas, meat and potatoes all had to be separated on my plate.  I think the origin of this for me was that I had one of  those plates with built-in dividers.  Once I graduted to a regular plate I wanted to keep everything separated.  Creature of habit.  I even used rolled up napkins between everything.  And God forbid that any juice from one thing spilled onto anything else.  I would almost scream.  Yes, my neurosis started early.

So, my husband likes it mixed.  And, I, being ever contradictory and extremist, like it separate or blended.

 

 

Leave a Reply

